Skip to content

Corridor

December 1, 2015

image

This oil sketch is from the many pencil sketches I have made while on the train travelling through the Toronto /Montreal corridor. My late father worked  most of his adult life for the railroad and I feel as if this particular stretch of rail line is part of who I am; the dark tree line, the meadows and the farms..the approach to urban settlement.  All of these places and pictures and ways of the land are permanently in my mind’s eye. These sketches are an exploration of this ribbon of landscape that connects us and connects me, through the work of painting them,  to the memory of my father.

oil on cradled panel, about 12×12″

available

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Elizabeth the landscape and your writing are beautiful, full of life, depth, so thoughtfully observed, they seem to me gentle and distinctly determined at the same time.

  2. Elizabeth, I’m so thrilled to see your work, and I feel very lucky to have had that conversation with you in the lunch room where you gave me a napkin with the address of your website on it, so that I can see some of what you do.

    I love this sketch. I agree with Margaret’s comment, and would add that there is an element of nostalgia here.

Leave a Reply

